Go To College Without High School Graduation!!!

by

This news first seemed to me like those "O & A-levels" education ads. back in Nepal. Remember how those colleges used to accept people who failed SLC? A nice deal for both the schools as well as the students right? This is exactly what happened in USA too. Many students are able to join colleges without even getting a high school diploma.

NY Times writes:

But many colleges — public and private, two-year and four-year — will accept students who have not graduated from high school or earned equivalency degrees. And in an era of stubbornly elevated high school dropout rates, the chance to enter college through the back door is attracting growing interest among students without high school diplomas.

However good this may sound to the dropouts, it is creating a controversy across the media. So, what is the point of high school diploma if you can enter college without it? Does this not mean that students can give a damn about high schools and yet get to go to college? This has set a negative impression among the thousands of high school seniors. And, the numbers are growing day by day. NY Times further writes:

There are nearly 400,000 students like Ms. Pointer nationwide, accounting for 2 percent of all college students, 3 percent at community colleges and 4 percent at commercial, or profit-making, colleges, according to a survey by the United States Education Department in 2003-4.

For heaven's sake, 2% of the college students are high school dropouts! Now this is something that really bothers me. Not that I care so much about what goes on out here but this is something that sets a bad precedent for other countries. If it can happen in USA, why not in Nepal? It may very well be true that one day the Nepalese will knock the door of the ministry of education with the same proposal. And then, what next?

One needs to understand that getting the opportunity to go to college isn't enough unless one is prepared for college education. This might be explained by the failure of many high school graduates to graduate from college. There is yet another dimension to this problem. Problem of allocation of our scarce resources. Should we invest on these high school dropouts who are most likely to flunk from colleges too? This is a growing debate among the American education circle.

Whatever be the case, I am not for the admission of high school dropouts in colleges. Education should have some levels of filters attached to it. If you can do what you want, then what is the point of ranking different levels of education? Why not have a provision which lets you climb up the ladder every year?

This is a matter of debate. What do you think?

 (based on: Can't Complete High School?Go Right to College,NY Times,May 30,2006)

12 Responses to “Go To College Without High School Graduation!!!”

  1. Christina Ham Says:

    I believe the person who is writing this is ignorant. Why not let people try and better them selves. So what it sounds like he is saying is if someone drops out they should not be given another chance to improve their situation. I know plenty of high school graduates who are in college today And can’t even pass an asvab or are failing their classes and honestly I know more high school graduates attending college and are doing great. I believe high school dropouts has a better appreciation of college then high school students because they have seen what life has to offer with out college so they make a decision to go back and succeed. We should never stop letting people try to better their situation.

  2. dreamnepal Says:

    Christina,
    I do understand your point but I strongly believe that there should be filters along the way in order to utilize the scarce resources efficiently. This is the simple economics operating in the education sector. You must be aware of it. If the high school dropouts are willing to go to college, why can’t they spend another year and get high school diploma?

    After all, if they are that motivated about getting education, they must be willing to sweat a little more, right? I never said, if you drop out, you should not be given another chance to improve. If you drop out once, go back again and prove that you can do it. If you don’t have the qualities to get even a high school diploma, why should the nation waste resources on his/her college education? There can be other people who might better utilize those resources.

    There are other catches to allowing the dropouts to attend college. If you can join college in any case, why would you put extra effort to do better in the high school exams? This is the simple human psychology…you must be aware of it…

  3. Josh Thomas Says:

    I agree with Christina completely.

    I’m actually thinking about dropping out today (I’m 15.. in highschool still) and it’s GREAT news for me to know that I won’t need to have a high school diploma to get into college.

    thank you for writing this article and telling me I don’t have to have one, even though I also completely disagree with you that it’s wrong.

    The reason I’m going to drop out is because I can just learn more that I’m going to use in my future simply by staying home and teaching myself.

    That’s great for me because I get to teach myself only what I’m going to need for my future and specialize in that, I don’t need all that other shit they are throwing at us. When I get good in my field I can go to a college knowing that I’m an expert in what I want to go into already and haven’t wasted the past few years of my life learning about how Abraham Lincoln freed the slaves when I’m majoring in the arts.

  4. Josh LeVoir Says:

    I agree with Christina and Josh. I wish I could drop out, but I fear rejection of my friends and family. Not only that, I’m in my senior year of high school, it would be pointless. I’m so close.
    I don’t think many people really realize that you can succeed without a high school education. There are many possibilities for a person to succeed in life outside of the set path.
    If I were to drop out, the first thing I would do would get my G.E.D. Next step for me would to see if there were any scholarships I could receive. I would also look into if you could still get the money issued from your state, if your entitled to it. Then apply at several colleges, especially community colleges, in the field you wish to study.
    You could go further than many high school graduates. I know several who aren’t even going to college, and many who won’t make it far after high school. I just hope I do not lose interest soon. I am getting very tired of learning the same thing every year.
    I feel very sorry for the up and coming students for Michigan Schools. The graduation requirements have increased dramatically from what I have to do. I have a feeling the number of drop outs will increase also.
    That is my input, hope someone finds use of it.
    Josh LeVoir

  5. shades Says:

    I would just like to say that I am currently a high school (drop-out) I completed all of my high school classes, except for one. I know sit here looking for opportunities to continue my education. Life throws a lot of curve balls and I don’t want my mistakes as a 17 year old who had no idea about the world to prevent me from becoming something. Also in response to the wasting money on students, did it occur to you that if not for these chances most of those high school drop outs will end up on welfare where you will inevitably pay way more money to care for them and of course there children.
    Also have you checked out how much it will cost to actually finish high school. It is very discouraging. I could never afford it without loans, which aren’t offered for high school courses

  6. ignatius Says:

    should extra class be discouraged in senior high schools.

  7. ignatius Says:

    should extra class in senior high schools be discouraged

  8. Tiffany Says:

    I’m a 23-year-old high school drop-out, and I’m hoping to God that I get the chance to go to college. I did receive my G.E.D.; I believe that to go to college, at least a G.E.D. should be required, if for no other reason than to gauge if you are intelligent enough to handle the classes you’ll be taking at the collegiate level.

    I, like most drop-outs, did so at an early age (16), and therefore had no way of comprehending the ramifications. When you’re in your mid-to-late teens, you think you know everything. You believe that the world at large has more to teach you than some stupid teacher or some stupid book. But looking back now, if there’s one thing that I wish I could change about my life thus far, dropping out would be it.

    However, being that time travel has not yet been perfected, I am incredibly grateful that some colleges provide second chances to those who have made mistakes.

  9. david Says:

    I bellive it is very possible you can take your ged exams which is equivalent and the same with a high school diploma and go to college withouth finishing high school i am 14 now and in convenant university you have to be very intelligent and do well in your sat exams

  10. GmcG Says:

    I disagree with the author of this post. I dropped out of high school at the age of 17 and within four years I had graduated with a BA from a top-tier national university and was on my way to grad school. If I can do it so can anyone with the willpower to do so. It is not a shortcut, it is simply another path. I believe that having this option is one of the many things that make this country great. We enable out-of-the-box thinkers to reach their potential and we don’t beat them down with artificially imposed “filters”….This is why the United States has always and will always produce the greatest creative minds in the world.

  11. wire.kapitall.com Says:

    Normally I don’t learn article on blogs, but I wish to say that this write-up very forced me to check out and do so! Your writing style has been amazed me. Thanks, quite great article.

  12. Title Loan Companies Says:

    I am regular reader, how are you everybody? This post posted
    at this site is in fact good.

जवाफ लेख्नुहोस्

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )


